Cheddar Valley Advanced Motorcyclists

Annual General Meeting, 13th November 2017

Our 15th Annual General Meeting was held on Monday at The Burrington Inn, Burrington Coombe with a very good attendance of 50 members, associates, friends and guests.

Chairperson Marita thanked our team of Observers, Committee members and Members for their contributions and achievements over the previous 12 months and reported back on the many interesting and well attended group activities that have been held. Congratulations went to our associates on their recent Advanced Rider test passes and Marita presented Coron Wybrow and Mike Callum with their IAM Pass Certificates. The Chairperson’s Award was presented to Mike Olding for his outstanding contribution to the Group.

For the first time in many years there were two applications for election to each of the posts of Chair, Treasurer and Chief Observer, and in accordance with IAM Group rules and regulations this was decided by a secret ballot.  Bob Samwell was duly elected the new Chair for the Group, Peter Ford was elected as the Treasurer and Tony Field was elected Chief Observer.

Chris Poolman was elected as the Group Secretary and Phil Scovell as Rides Coordinator. Mike Olding was re-elected as Membership / Associate Secretary, Shirley Eden as PR / Events Secretary, John Owen as Social Secretary and Dave Shepherd as Web Manager.

The new Chair Bob Samwell thanked Marita Muench, Andreas Henken and Nick Schroeter for their many years of dedicated hard work, commitment and contribution to the Group and was wholeheartedly endorsed by all present.  Thanks also went to outgoing Group Secretary Alan Adams for his contribution over the past year and organisation of the AGM.

Bob finally expressed his thanks to everyone present and highlighted his priorities for the further development and advancement of the Group over the coming year.

We wish the new Group Committee all the best and look forward to the next 12 months of safe riding with CVAM!